Review: Overwatch

overwatch-cover.jpg

 

Title: Overwatch: Origins Edition

Genre: Shooter, Sci-Fi

Format: Playstation 4

Rating: ★★★★★

It seems I’m starting this blog with a review, a review about a game that was probably the most talked about game of 2016. Well, better late than never.

Overwatch maybe one of the very best games I’ve ever played.  I thought the hype for it was a bit hyperbolic last year, but the hype is deserved. It’s one of those games that you can play for hours, get sucked into, and not be bored by it. It’s even a game where you can get frustrated, but you still want to play more.

There are so many positive things about this game, that I do not know where to begin. The graphics are stellar, and I just love the designs of the characters and locations in the game. It looks very much like Pixar decided to make a video game. It has that kind of quality to it. My particular favorite locations happen to be Volskaya Industries, Hanamura, and Lijiang Tower. But then again, I also really loved Dorado and Hollywood, the locations are just so beautiful to look at. The characters too carry this same quality. I love that McCree is a cowboy for absolutely no reason at all, given that this takes place in a futuristic, Sci-Fi setting. Or, that Mei might be one of the cutest video game characters in all of creation. I like that the characters are from various backgrounds, have different races, different ages, and different body types. It’s a very welcomed change of pace.

Gameplay is also great, in my opinion. I am not the best at shooters. Playing something like Mass Effect can be near impossible for me. If it’s an old school shooter, I’m pretty good, but something more modern gives me trouble. Overwatch, after I got the hang of it, did not. I adapted to it, and I do a lot better now. I even scored a couple of Play of the Games and a Legendary. I am thrilled with that. I like that the characters are easy to move around, and the controls are plenty simple. The only drawback is timing. You can go in, decide to perform an “ultimate” (which is a sort of high-powered move) and it does nothing, or causes very little damage. Timing is everything. Also, I love the choice of playing offense, defense, tank or healer. Each brings something special to the table, and I think can be a useful tool in deciding which character you can handle. I know my preferred type happens to be playing tank. I am a D.Va main.

Lastly, the storytelling aspect is another highlight. I love the complex characters and their various back-stories. I love learning new things about them, and it makes me an absolute sucker for the tie-in material, such as the comics and the animated shorts. I also love that the story itself is being told piece by piece, and it’s smart on Blizzard’s part to release it like that. They have endless opportunities, and can have it go on for a very long time, which I hope they decide to do.

To be honest, any flaws that Overwatch has, they are minimized by its positives. Sometimes my biggest problems can come from other players, but it isn’t constant. Or, I may think one of the character skins is kind of ugly (but not in that Bioware kind of ugly). While I can’t say the game is perfect, it’s just hard for me to see the flaws, when I’ve enjoyed it so much.

But in the end, Overwatch is a great game and deserving of its hype.

Buy Overwatch at Amazon.

Leave a Reply

